My Wallpaper Range

Inspired by Jazmine’s Scribble It wall, I decided I would like to create a customisable wallpaper. At first I was hoping to do a wipeable product, but this seemed to be difficult with my budget, time limit, and desire to not use harmful chemicals to create the product.

I originally tried to hand-draw designs but i found it difficult, especially with creating pattern repeats, so I instead created several different digital patterns. I decided to create plain black and white patterns, similar to a colouring-in book which could be coloured in or left plain and would still look beautiful and elegant.

Restaurant Wallpaper (Pattern Repeat Evident)

‘Restaurant’ Wallpaper (Pattern Repeat Evident)

Single Pattern Repeat

Single Pattern Repeat of ‘Keys’

A section of the 'Retro' Pattern Repeat, illustrating how it would look partially coloured

A section of the ‘Retro’ Pattern Repeat, illustrating how it would look partially coloured

A depiction of how the 'Wildflower' Wallpaper would look in a room uncoloured.

A depiction of how the ‘Wildflower’ Wallpaper would look in a room uncoloured.

I researched other environmentally friendly products and decided I would like to ideally print on organic cotton, this means they could be left unstarched and used for cushions and other items, but will provide for a lovely texture as a wallpaper. I researched pesticide free wallpaper pastes and found a home-made recipe for wallpaper paste as well as how to create natural dyes (using herbs, plants, vegetables etc.) for a completely safe and eco- conscious design.

Leave a comment